Venus Dancing W/Neptune 2004

Venus Dancing With Neptune   ©  Dean Andrew Scarpinato 2002

I gaze into your eyes and I’m met with understanding.
With Love.

You see me as I long to see myself
And as I gaze into the windows of your soul
I am truly absorbed in the refracted reflection into my own essence.
Seen through the soft rosy lens of your adoration.

I Adore You.

In the pools of your calm seas I invert my reflection
As I linger in fields of narcissus.
Like Persephone enchanted by the heady bouquet
Letting go trusting in your deliverance (beneficience).
I seek to know you in a space beyond time
And in our deep embrace we are free in perfection.
An Eden transcending Death and the consciousness of “I”
We’re all ways, here at once in all directions.

And I try to mirror back what I imagine are your needs
And live up to the fantasy we’ve created.
You see me as I need to be but fear that I am not
So unconsciously I’m feeling deflated.
And I fear and resent the need to become
The hero I’m longing to be
And I’m feeling the weight of the subtle demands
That you never consciously speak.

You have manipulated away my boundaries
As we’ve merged with the Collective Sea
As separation melts away with the longing to fuse
We lose objectivity.
And while I desire to bask in your nectar
And to kiss your pedicured feet,
Where my ego is weak I feel self-effacement
Fear and insecurity.

Which, of course, in delusion, I project onto you
Avoiding reality
Subtly undermining your sense of self-worth
Because I fear you’re too good for me.
Or that I’ve been exposed as another flawed human
Shattering illusions of divinity.
You can’t possibly love me
You don’t know me at all.
You’re deceptive. You lied to me!

So we tear down our love, pierce the heart of the goddess

And never see the truth of it all.
We’re subconsciously attracting and directing this scene
And you know we’ve been through this before.
But the problem doesn’t lie with he, she or it
But the way you relate to desire.
Can you give all in a moment of honesty
And not be consumed by the fire?

Well I guess that depends on if you’re keeping it real
Or allowing yourself to be deceived
Not by what you think I thought, said or meant
But by your own wounded fantasies.

I may help you to smile or incite you to cry
Or inspire your own inner strengths.
But I’m not your saviour and I’ll slip through your grasp
And you’ll call me deceptive and fake.
When the truth is your clinging out of desperation
Just to not face yourself all alone
And you’re blaming me for not living up to the image
You projected onto your illusory throne.

For your Vision of Venus and your need for a martyr
Who can heal you of all of your wounds
And be wrapped in the image of your dream of Osiris
And respond to your every mood.
Is a bit unrealistic yet that’s who I must be
To be the archetype for which I was groomed
So we move from one to another fantasy
With an impending sense of doom.

Then we wonder why no one out there understands
And why “true love” is so damned elusive.
Its cause we’re avoiding the true work our psyche demands
Seeking whatever easy path seems conducive.
To deluding ourselves that this time its different
That this girl will never break my heart
That forever is known in the blink of an eye
And that this was true love from the start.

But when the fantasy fades and the glamour is sullied
Then unselfish love is the only true key.
And that’s true understanding of your unconscious motives
And forgiving those motives in me.

 

About Dean Scarpinato

As a guitarist, artist and poet, heavily inspired by the transcendentalists such as Jerry Garcia, I bring a sense of the dance into my acupuncture/massage treatments. The last thing a healing modality such as this should be is rigid and augmented. The key word is harmony and that is what we should be aiming for always. The treatment of an acupuncturist should, in my estimation, simply be pointing the way. In a drumming/healing seminar I attended in 2000 with Mickey Hart I remember him saying “Never let go of the groove. Always stay in the groove.” That is in essence what the Tao Te Ching means when it says “My greatest wealth is my connection to Tao. My greatest sorrow is in losing that connection.” I recognize that most folks may not understand this. And I am perfectly capable of working and relating right here on the material plane. Still, I am aware of a far greater reality where the transitory affairs of the material world are non-existent and mundane. From this perspective real healing truly takes place, or begins to. It depends on our own ability to drop the layers of ego and get to what’s real. It’s not the path for everyone. I rarely even mention it when I treat a cop for a sprained lumbar or a woman for infertility. It does not need to be said. There is an element of this treatment that is conscious altering in a way that philosophy cannot approach. See me enough and the hard edges start to wear thin on their own. But given the opportunity, I love to work with the artist, the dancer, the athlete, that seeks peak performance and knows what it means to be ”in the zone.” I can give that added edge of performance or creativity simply in terms of the clarity of mind and extended range of motion. Harmony of mind and body becomes reality and the more work you have done in that direction before you come to me, the greater the synergy that our work together can achieve. If this speaks to you in any way, contact me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

